then / later / make contact Tending To Orbit

07 October 2003 - 8:22 a.m.

Hello Again

New town, new house, no TV, lots of books and coffee, and still no update.
I'll let poet Ralph Angel take it from here and I'll return shortly.

Headlights Trail Away

and go on surprising. It happens.
Everything. A couple of suitcases
falling from a fourth-story apartment-
fertilize the African violets
and there you have it, new slippers
in the hallway- the relentless, invisiable
moon of my heart, hugging its orbit.

Yes, it�s raining,
or about to. Black splotches
on the sidewalk. Gum wrappers
in a gutter stream. I feel I�ve
changed so many times in the last
fifteen seconds that the cold
must belong to the fishwoman�s
darker eye, sparrows in the hollow
of a traffic light.

All else is habit, like believing
you�re right, you�re a decent, good person.
it�s the same street, no matter
what unches are thrown, the same
signs. A house of cards
with a barber stropping the razor
and the janitor jangling keys,
with packages to wrap, the several breezes.
There is the faintest trace of basil
on the breath of the waitress. it tickles, that taste.
and what can you do?
Such a pleasure to be here.

The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver

Clix Me!

click me for clix


last five revolutions

- - 05 April 2004

sunsets - 18 February 2004

Happy V Day - 14 February 2004

butterfly shadow - 12 February 2004

hello - 07 October 2003



powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Previous mama journals Next

hosted by DiaryLand.com